Denver Traffic Lawyer
Don’t Let a Traffic Incident Cost Your Freedom
A traffic stop can turn into a serious problem if you end up facing a major criminal charge in court. There are a variety of traffic violations in Denver and Colorado, including:
- Vehicular assault
- Careless driving causing death
- DUI or DWAI
- Reckless driving
- Driving under suspension
Do not leave your freedom and financial future up to the mercy of the court. Instead, contact a skilled Denver traffic ticket attorney that can craft a strong defense for your case. At Fife Luneau, P.C., we have over 30 years of combined experience in criminal defense that we can put at your service. We have defended thousands of cases, and we are familiar with almost every tactic a prosecutor will use.
Put that experience to work for you. Contact us for a free consultation on your Denver traffic violation case at (720) 408-7130 today.
Penalties for Driving Crimes in Denver
Major traffic offenses can cost you time in jail and thousands of dollars in fines, even for a first offense. For instance, driving with a revoked license can lead to up to a year in jail for a first offense, and up to $1,000 in fines.
Leaving the scene of an accident with any property damage, however small, is also a serious traffic crime. You can face up to 18 months in jail and up to $5,000 in fines. If the case is severe enough to be a felony-level charge, you can face one to 12 years in prison and up to $750,000 in fines.
Vehicular homicide and vehicular assault are also serious driving crimes in Colorado. Criminal charges can be life-altering, including years in prison and hundreds of thousands of dollars in fines.
Don’t let a traffic ticket ruin your future. Let our Denver traffic lawyers work for you. Contact us at (720) 408-7130 today.
Attempted Murder, Assault, Menacing with a Deadly Weapon, Distribution of Marijuana
Assault in the Third Degree (Domestic Violence)
- DUI Acquittal
- Careless Driving
- Careless Driving
- Attempted Murder, Assault, Menacing with a Deadly Weapon, Distribution of Marijuana
- Assault in the Third Degree (Domestic Violence)
Will my license be suspended if I am arrested for DUI?When you have been charged with driving under the influence, the DMV will begin the license suspension process. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you can face a suspension of up to five years. Challenging a license suspension requires you to request a DMV hearing within seven days of you being pulled over. The results of this trial may be a probationary license that allows you to keep driving or the installation of an interlock ignition device that will allow you to drive only after you have proven your sobriety.
How are DUI and DWAI offenses different?
DUI, or driving under the influence, is usually charges as a misdemeanor that arises when you blood alcohol content is .08% or above. Driving while ability impaired, or DWAI, is an infraction when your BAC is higher than .05 but less than .08. DUI offenses carry more serious charges, including up to a year in jail, $1,000 in fines, and community service. A DWAI conviction will result in up to 180 days in jail, $200 in fines, and up to 48 hours of community service. Our Denver DUI lawyers can challenge the results of breath and blood tests and have a successful record in many cases.
Can’t I just accept the consequences of an arrest and move on?
It can be incredibly stressful to face a first offense but accepting your conviction will not simply allow you to move on. When you have a criminal record, many avenues become barred for you, including some professional licenses, the ability to join the military, and having other rights that are granted to citizens. At Fife Luneau, P.C., our Denver criminal defense attorneys work hard to fight for you and your record.