Colorado DUI Penalties

Defending the Accused with Experience & Passion

Colorado DUI Penalties

What Happens After a DUI Arrest in CO?

In Colorado, you can be charged with two different types of alcohol-related driving offenses: Driving Under the influence of Alcohol or Drugs (DUI) and Driving While Ability is Impaired (DWAI). If you’ve been arrested and charged with either offense, you’re going to need an experienced and aggressive DUI lawyer to represent your case.

Colorado law is very strict when it comes to convicting DUI and DWAI offenses. Without skilled legal representation, you may find yourself facing severe legal penalties and a detrimental mark on your criminal record. At Fife Luneau, P.C., our Denver DUI attorneys can advocate on your behalf and defend your rights in court.

We’re available 24/7! Contact our Denver DUI lawyers at (720) 408-7130 to schedule a free consultation.

DUI & DWAI Penalties

In Colorado, you can be charged with a DUI or a DWAI based on your blood alcohol concentration level (BAC). Per the state’s DWAI law, a 0.05% BAC level indicates that you are not mentally or physically capable of safely operating a vehicle. If you’re arrested on a DWAI charge, you may be facing a misdemeanor conviction and severe legal penalties. If your BAC level is at 0.08% or higher, you are driving above Colorado’s “legal limit” and may be charged with a DUI.

Administrative DUI Penalties

Administrative penalties are separate from criminal penalties and can impact your legal ability to drive in the future. It’s important to note that the Division of Motor Vehicles has the legal authority to suspend your license and charge you fees based on your current offense and any prior convictions. You have 7 days to request a DMV hearing if you want to challenge your license suspension.

DUI Penalties

  • 1st Offense
    • Up to 1 year in jail
    • $600-$1,000 fine
    • 8 points on your DMV record
    • License suspension for 9 months
    • 48-96 hours of public service
  • 2nd Offense
    • Up to 1 year in jail
    • $600-$1,500 fine
    • 8 points on your DMV record
    • License suspension for 1 year
    • 48-120 hours of public service
    • Ignition interlock device for 2 years
  • 3rd Offense
    • Up to 1 year in jail
    • $600-$1,500 fine
    • 12 points on your DMV record
    • License suspension for 2 years
    • 48-120 hours of public service
    • Ignition interlock device for 2 years
  • DUI with a Previous DWAI
    • Up to 1 year in jail
    • $800-$1,200 fine
    • 8 points on your DMV record
    • 52-104 hours of public service

DWAI Penalties

  • 1st Offense
    • Up to 1 year in jail
    • $200-$500 fine
    • 8 points on your DMV record
    • 24-48 hours of public service
  • 2nd Offense
    • Up to 1 year in jail
    • $600-$1,500 fine
    • 8 points on your DMV record
    • License suspension for 1 year
    • 48-120 hours of public service
    • Ignition interlock device for 2 years
  • 3rd Offense
    • Up to 1 year in jail
    • $600-$1,500 fine
    • 8 points on your DMV record
    • License suspension for 2 years
    • 48-120 hours of public service
    • Ignition interlock device for 2 years
  • DWAI with a Previous DUI
    • Up to 1 year in jail
    • $900-$1,500 fine
    • 8 points on your DMV record
    • 56-112 hours of public service

DUI & DWAI Felony Conviction

A DUI or DWAI charge can become a Colorado Class 4 Felony if you have 3 prior DUI/DWAI convictions or are charged with vehicular homicide or assault. If you are convicted, you may be facing 2-6 years in prison, 3 years of mandatory parole, and could pay fines up to $500,000.

Protect Your Future. Schedule a Consultation Today

Being arrested for a DUI or DWAI charge can be overwhelming without a skilled litigator to defend your case. If you require legal representation, look no further than the experienced and trial-tested Denver DUI attorneys at Fife Luneau, P.C. We work tirelessly to protect the rights of our clients, and because we aren’t afraid to go the distance, we have successfully represented thousands of DUI cases in Colorado.

Every moment counts. Call our Denver drunk driving lawyers at (720) 408-7130 to explore your legal options.

Because Results Matter

Fife Luneau, P.C. is one of the most respected law firms when it comes to DUI and criminal related cases. We have a remarkable track record up and down the Front Range, successfully handling some of the most complex cases.

  • Acquitted of All Charges DUI Acquittal
  • Dismissed Careless Driving
  • Dismissed Careless Driving
  • Dismissed Attempted Murder, Assault, Menacing with a Deadly Weapon, Distribution of Marijuana
  • Dismissed Assault in the Third Degree (Domestic Violence)

    GET STARTED ON YOUR DEFENSE TODAY!

    Call our office at (720) 408-7130 to schedule your free consultation.

    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your phone number.
      This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.

    Need Answers?
    We've Got them

    • How should I choose a Denver criminal defense attorney?
      A: First and foremost, your lawyer should be confident and knowledgeable in their practice. You should always feel comfortable with discussing the details of your situation and your freedom and your rights should be your counsel’s top priority. At Fife Luneau, P.C., our team has a true passion for what we do, and our experience and zealous advocacy is a testament to this. We have a proven track record for results and will always fight for your best interest.
    • How much are your legal fees?
      A: Fife Luneau, P.C. handles cases on an upfront flat-fee schedule that is determined based on how severe your charges, how complex the case, and whether you need to go to trial. We will discuss all issues with you beforehand, and once you agree to our fees, we’ll hold your money in a trust on your behalf. This way we can focus on your matter and not on money. Our firm also accepts all major credit cards.
    • After an arrest, what are my rights?
      A: Every U.S. citizen is granted certain rights by the Constitution. These include the face that you are innocent until proven guilty, and that burden is put on the prosecution. After you have been charged, you have the right to a public trial, skilled counsel of your choosing or a court-appointed lawyer, if needed, the right to remain silent to protect yourself from incrimination, the right to cross-examine the accused, the right to testify, or not, and the right to an appeal.