Grand TheftDefending the Accused with Experience & Passion
Grand Theft Lawyer in Denver
What is Grand Larceny?
Many states recognize a separate crime for “grand theft” or “grand larceny” which involves the theft of property amounting to a certain value. For example, in California, the crime of “grand theft” involves taking property exceeding $950 in value.
Theft is one of the oldest crimes in civilization. From the ancient commandment “thou shalt not steal” to the British common law concept of larceny, stealing another person’s property is inherently wrong according to society.
Our criminal defense team at Fife Luneau, P.C. has years of experience handling theft crimes, including grand theft offenses in Denver. Our clients have grown to trust our ability to fight for their best interests, and so can you.
Grand Larceny Laws in Colorado
Grand larceny/theft in Colorado belongs to one of the following felony classifications depending on the corresponding value of the stolen property:
- Class 6 Felony: Between $2,000 and $5,000.
- Class 5 Felony: Between $5,000 and $20,000.
- Class 4 Felony: Between $20,000 and $100,000.
- Class 3 Felony: Between $100,000 and $1,000,000.
- Class 2 Felony: Exceeds $1,000,0000.
Have you been charged with grand theft in Denver, CO? Call Fife Luneau, P.C., today at (720) 408-7130 or contact us online to start your defense!
What is the Punishment for Grand Larceny in Colorado?
Grand larceny/theft penalties:
- Class 6 Felony: Up to 1.5 years in jail & $100k in fines + 1 year mandatory parole
- Class 5 Felony: Up to 3 years in jail & $100k in fines + 2 years mandatory parole
- Class 4 Felony: Up to 6 years in jail & $500k in fines + 3 years mandatory parole
- Class 3 Felony: Up to 12 years in jail & $750k in fines + 5 years mandatory parole
- Class 2 Felony: Up to 24 years in jail & $1 million in fines + 5 years mandatory parole
Grand Theft Auto & Aggravated Motor Theft
Colorado does recognize aggravated motor vehicle theft (Grand Theft Auto) as a distinct crime. Under section 18-4-409 of Colorado’s Criminal Code (C.R.S.), someone who steals a car and keeps it for more than 24 hours is guilty of aggravated motor vehicle theft.
Aggravated motor vehicle theft can be classified as:
- First degree aggravated motor vehicle theft: This offense involves theft of a car worth between $20,000 and $100,000. Depending on the car’s value, first degree aggravated motor vehicle theft can be a class 3,4 o 5 felony.
- Second degree aggravated motor vehicle theft: If the stolen car was worth between $1,000 and $20,000, the offense might be considered a Class 5 or 6 felony. If the car was worth less than $1,000, the offense is a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
How Much Theft Is a Felony in Colorado?
It is a felony in Colorado to steal money or goods worth more than $2,000. Felony theft convictions can result in one (1) to twenty-four (24) years in prison and/or a fine of up to $1,000,000 payment of restitution to the victim.
Don’t Wait to Act!
If you have been charged with a theft crime in Denver, you could be facing a possible felony charge. If you have a criminal offense on your record that amounts to a felony, you could find yourself having trouble finding employment, securing loans, and applying for educational institutions.
Given the potentially dire collateral consequences of a theft felony charge, you should consult a qualified criminal defense attorney in Denver who has experience handling theft charges.
At Fife Luneau, P.C., we have committed years of our practice to defending Denver residents against various criminal charges, including theft crimes. We are passionate about protecting your due process right to receive a fair criminal proceeding.
Contact Fife Luneau, P.C. today for a FREE consultation!
Because Results Matter
Fife Luneau, P.C. is one of the most respected law firms when it comes to DUI and criminal related cases. We have a remarkable track record up and down the Front Range, successfully handling some of the most complex cases.
- Acquitted of All Charges DUI Acquittal
- Dismissed Careless Driving
- Dismissed Careless Driving
- Dismissed Attempted Murder, Assault, Menacing with a Deadly Weapon, Distribution of Marijuana
- Dismissed Assault in the Third Degree (Domestic Violence)
GET STARTED ON YOUR DEFENSE TODAY!
Call our office at (720) 408-7130 to schedule your free consultation.
We've Got them
How should I choose a Denver criminal defense attorney?A: First and foremost, your lawyer should be confident and knowledgeable in their practice. You should always feel comfortable with discussing the details of your situation and your freedom and your rights should be your counsel’s top priority. At Fife Luneau, P.C., our team has a true passion for what we do, and our experience and zealous advocacy is a testament to this. We have a proven track record for results and will always fight for your best interest.
How much are your legal fees?A: Fife Luneau, P.C. handles cases on an upfront flat-fee schedule that is determined based on how severe your charges, how complex the case, and whether you need to go to trial. We will discuss all issues with you beforehand, and once you agree to our fees, we’ll hold your money in a trust on your behalf. This way we can focus on your matter and not on money. Our firm also accepts all major credit cards.
After an arrest, what are my rights?A: Every U.S. citizen is granted certain rights by the Constitution. These include the face that you are innocent until proven guilty, and that burden is put on the prosecution. After you have been charged, you have the right to a public trial, skilled counsel of your choosing or a court-appointed lawyer, if needed, the right to remain silent to protect yourself from incrimination, the right to cross-examine the accused, the right to testify, or not, and the right to an appeal.