Denver Probation Lawyer
Achieve a Favorable Outcome With Our Criminal Defense Attorneys in Colorado
Being charged with a probation violation in Denver can spell the end of your freedom and the chance to show the court you are staying out of trouble. Having our experienced Denver probation violation attorneys at Fife Luneau, P.C. on your side can make all the difference.
There are several conditions that can cause the state to charge you with a probation violation:
- You picked up additional charges while on probation
- You did not complete some of the terms of your probation
- The probation officer misunderstands your actions or your intentions
Probation officers may not believe your explanation for your actions or the reasons that you were late checking in. Having an experienced Denver probation violation lawyer on your side to help keep communication clear can make an immense difference in maintaining your freedom.
What Are the Consequences of a Probation Violation Conviction in Colorado?
A probation violation often results in the revocation of probation and jail time. You may also receive additional fines. However, with an experienced Denver criminal defense attorney from Fife Luneau, P.C. on your side, the penalties may be able to be lessened.
You may be able to continue probation with additional restrictions, or you may even be able to continue probation without revocation or changes. Do not assume you must go to jail. Fight back with legal representation.
If you suspect there has been a probation violation filed against you, don’t stop reporting to your probation officer or hide from authorities. These actions make things much worse and may convince a judge that you are not worthy of a second chance. We can review your case, put together a defense for the judge, and help you through the probation violation process.
Attempted Murder, Assault, Menacing with a Deadly Weapon, Distribution of Marijuana
Assault in the Third Degree (Domestic Violence)
- DUI Acquittal
- Careless Driving
- Careless Driving
- Attempted Murder, Assault, Menacing with a Deadly Weapon, Distribution of Marijuana
- Assault in the Third Degree (Domestic Violence)
Will my license be suspended if I am arrested for DUI?When you have been charged with driving under the influence, the DMV will begin the license suspension process. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you can face a suspension of up to five years. Challenging a license suspension requires you to request a DMV hearing within seven days of you being pulled over. The results of this trial may be a probationary license that allows you to keep driving or the installation of an interlock ignition device that will allow you to drive only after you have proven your sobriety.
How are DUI and DWAI offenses different?
DUI, or driving under the influence, is usually charges as a misdemeanor that arises when you blood alcohol content is .08% or above. Driving while ability impaired, or DWAI, is an infraction when your BAC is higher than .05 but less than .08. DUI offenses carry more serious charges, including up to a year in jail, $1,000 in fines, and community service. A DWAI conviction will result in up to 180 days in jail, $200 in fines, and up to 48 hours of community service. Our Denver DUI lawyers can challenge the results of breath and blood tests and have a successful record in many cases.
Can’t I just accept the consequences of an arrest and move on?
It can be incredibly stressful to face a first offense but accepting your conviction will not simply allow you to move on. When you have a criminal record, many avenues become barred for you, including some professional licenses, the ability to join the military, and having other rights that are granted to citizens. At Fife Luneau, P.C., our Denver criminal defense attorneys work hard to fight for you and your record.