Denver Drug Crime Attorneys
Defending Those Who Are Facing Drug Crime Charges in Denver County
A conviction for possession or use of illegal drugs like cocaine, methamphetamine, or ecstasy, carries substantial jail time – even for a first offense. So does a sentence for possessing two or more ounces of marijuana or misusing prescription drugs. Don’t let a drug conviction cost you your freedom; work with our team of drug crime attorneys in Denver, CO, to protect your rights and defend your future.
At Fife Luneau, P.C., our criminal defense lawyers are bright, aggressive, and ready to stand with you against the prosecution. You can expect that we will focus on vigorous preparation for your case and that we will litigate it to the end if that’s what is best for you. We are available 24/7 for our clients by phone, so don't wait to call for your free consultation. We will do everything we can to defend your case.
Are you facing charges for a drug crime in Colorado? Call Fife Luneau, P.C. today at (720) 408-7130 or contact us online to schedule a consultation with our drug crimes lawyer in Denver.
Colorado Marijuana Laws
Under state law, it is a crime to possess, use, or distribute controlled substances, which are classified into different “schedules.” Schedule I controlled substances are considered to provide no medical benefit and have a high potential for abuse. Successive schedules have a lower potential for abuse and accepted medical use. Unlike federal law, however, marijuana has been decriminalized in CO.
Still, many of our clients are not aware of the limits on marijuana possession in Colorado. Under state law, these are the laws regarding the possession and use of recreational marijuana:
- Only those 21 and older can possess and use marijuana
- You can only legally buy marijuana from licensed retail stores
- Adults 21 and older can have up to one ounce of marijuana
- Using marijuana in public places is not allowed
- You cannot use marijuana on federal property, including national parks
- Employers can still test for and make employment decisions based on marijuana usage
Drug Trafficking, Possession, and Sales in Colorado
- Drug Trafficking- Drug trafficking in Colorado is a severe offense with hefty penalties. Depending on the type of drugs in question and the amount being trafficked, those accused of this crime can face up to life in prison, large fines, and even asset forfeiture. In addition, the state charges harsh consequences for those found guilty of these crimes. Learn more about the drug trafficking laws in our blog post.
- Drug Possession- It's no secret that drug possession charges in Colorado can have profound legal implications. Whether you're looking at a medical or recreational marijuana charge or any number of other drug offenses, it's crucial to have an experienced drug crime lawyer on your side.
- Drug Sales- In Colorado, selling drugs is a serious charge that can land you with large fines and even jail time. Depending on the specific type of drugs being sold and the amount, the possible penalties connected with drug sales can range from minor to severe.
Colorado Drug Crime Penalties
Colorado law recognizes different felony levels for certain drug crimes.
- Level 1 Drug Felonies: level 1 drug felonies are the most serious in Colorado and can include selling more than 225 grams of a schedule I or II controlled substance or selling marijuana to a minor. A conviction can result in up to 32 years in prison and $1 million in fines.
- Level 2 Drug Felonies: include selling between 14 and 225 grams of a schedule I or II controlled substances; selling the material for manufacturing drugs; possessing material to make methamphetamine. A conviction can result in up to 8 years in prison and $750,000 in fines.
- Level 3 Drug Felonies: include the attempt to commit a level 2 drug felony; selling no more than 14 grams of a schedule I or II controlled substance; distributing imitation controlled substances to a minor. Level 3 drug felonies are punishable with up to 6 years in prison and $500,000 in fines.
- Level 4 Drug Felonies: include attempting to commit a level 3 drug felony; selling up to 4 grams of a schedule III or IV controlled substance; possessing a controlled substance. A level 4 drug felony conviction can result in up to 1 year in prison and $100,000 in fines.
Additional Drug Crime Penalties and Programs
If you have been charged with a drug crime in Denver, you could face significant penalties, like jail time and fines. However, if you have an otherwise clean criminal history, you might have an opportunity to keep your record clean. Colorado recognizes the importance of giving drug offenders an opportunity to address drug addiction and abuse through programs like pretrial diversion and deferred sentencing.
- Drug Offender Public Service: Under Colorado law, drug offenders are required to complete at least 48 hours of public service for committing a drug felony in addition to any sentence rendered by the court.
- Pretrial Diversion: In exchange for agreeing to enter a drug treatment program, the court can stay criminal proceedings for up to 2 years for eligible defendants. This alternative to prison time and fines are often available to first-time offenders involving a misdemeanor drug offense.
- Deferred Sentencing: The court may stay sentencing for up to 4 years for certain eligible drug felony offenders if they agree to complete a drug rehabilitation program.
Contact Our Drug Crimes Lawyers Today
Drug charges are a serious concern. Thankfully, Colorado law recognizes that many drug offenders are also victims in the ongoing war on drugs. To determine your eligibility for a pretrial diversion or deferred sentencing, you should consult an experienced drug crime lawyer in Denver for advice. At Fife Luneau, P.C., we are dedicated to preserving your right to seek rehabilitative treatment for drug use.
Contact Fife Luneau, P.C. today to get started on your defense with our Denver drug crime attorneys.
Attempted Murder, Assault, Menacing with a Deadly Weapon, Distribution of Marijuana
Assault in the Third Degree (Domestic Violence)
- DUI Acquittal
- Careless Driving
- Careless Driving
- Attempted Murder, Assault, Menacing with a Deadly Weapon, Distribution of Marijuana
- Assault in the Third Degree (Domestic Violence)
Will my license be suspended if I am arrested for DUI?When you have been charged with driving under the influence, the DMV will begin the license suspension process. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you can face a suspension of up to five years. Challenging a license suspension requires you to request a DMV hearing within seven days of you being pulled over. The results of this trial may be a probationary license that allows you to keep driving or the installation of an interlock ignition device that will allow you to drive only after you have proven your sobriety.
How are DUI and DWAI offenses different?
DUI, or driving under the influence, is usually charges as a misdemeanor that arises when you blood alcohol content is .08% or above. Driving while ability impaired, or DWAI, is an infraction when your BAC is higher than .05 but less than .08. DUI offenses carry more serious charges, including up to a year in jail, $1,000 in fines, and community service. A DWAI conviction will result in up to 180 days in jail, $200 in fines, and up to 48 hours of community service. Our Denver DUI lawyers can challenge the results of breath and blood tests and have a successful record in many cases.
Can’t I just accept the consequences of an arrest and move on?
It can be incredibly stressful to face a first offense but accepting your conviction will not simply allow you to move on. When you have a criminal record, many avenues become barred for you, including some professional licenses, the ability to join the military, and having other rights that are granted to citizens. At Fife Luneau, P.C., our Denver criminal defense attorneys work hard to fight for you and your record.