Colorado Diversion Program Every parent’s nightmare is the call late at night from their teen saying they have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). It certainly is no one’s intent that such events occur, but many acknowledge that experimentation with alcohol and drugs is a common rite of passage for teenagers. That said,… Read More »Learn More
Denver, Colorado DUID Attorneys Committed to Defending the Rights of the Accused
Denver, Colorado Driving While Under the Influence of Drugs Lawyer
The Denver criminal defense attorneys at Fife Luneau, PC handle all types of intoxicated or impaired driving-related charges, including DUID (driving under the influence of drugs). We are wholly committed to protecting the rights of the accused, and will do everything we can to minimize or even eliminate the consequences of a DUID arrest.
When Can I Be Charged with DUID in Colorado?
While DUID is prosecuted in much the same way as driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI), there is no "legal limit" in DUID cases, which means you can be charged with DUID if tests show any amount of drugs in your system. You may also be charged with DUID if a law enforcement officer believes you are impaired by a legal prescription drug. We have experience with cases involving:
- Methamphetamine (meth)
- Cocaine or crack
- Prescription drugs, such as Xanax, Valium, Oxycontin, Vicodin, and Adderall
Even if you tested positive for drugs at the time of your arrest, there are strong defenses available to you. Our attorneys may be able show that drug testing equipment used in your case was unreliable, or that the test was not administered by a medical professional. In other situations, we may be able to argue that there was lack of probable cause for the search of your vehicle or problems with the traffic stop that led to your arrest.
DUID Penalties in Colorado
A first DUID conviction is punishable by 10 days to one year in jail, fines between $300 and $1,000, and 48 to 96 hours of public service, plus court costs generally totaling around $400. In certain cases, however, a judge may suspend all of a DUID sentence if you complete a drug and alcohol program. An experienced DUID defense lawyer can help you obtain a suspended sentence if it is the best option in your case.
In addition to the criminal penalties, a DUID conviction mandates a one year driver's license revocation plus points on your driving record, which may result in habitual traffic offender (HTO) status. In DMV hearings, we can help you retain or reinstate your driving privileges after a DUID arrest.
Seek Advice & Representation from an Experienced, Aggressive Denver DUID Lawyer
If you or a loved one has been arrested on suspicion of DUID, you need an attorney who is experienced in both DUI and drug crimes to help you protect your rights. Contact Fife Luneau, PC today for a free initial consultation with one of our defense attorneys. Should you retain our services, we work on flat fee and accept all major credit cards
I have known Charles L. Fife for 2 years now. Unfortunately, I required his personal expertise as an attorney earlier this year. I was very relieved when Mr. Fife agreed to take my case....MORE TESTIMONIALS