Colorado Diversion Program Every parent’s nightmare is the call late at night from their teen saying they have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). It certainly is no one’s intent that such events occur, but many acknowledge that experimentation with alcohol and drugs is a common rite of passage for teenagers. That said,… Read More »Learn More
Denver Vehicular Manslaughter Attorney Protecting Clients' Rights after DUI Accidents
The criminal defense attorneys at Fife Luneau, PC represent clients facing serious felony charges in Denver County and throughout Colorado. We have significant experience handling vehicular assault and vehicular homicide charges, understanding that defendants accused of reckless or intoxicated driving often feel responsible when an accident results in harm to another person. Accepting responsibility for a mistake or error in judgment, however, does not mean pleading guilty to serious criminal charges.
Representing People Charged with Felony Vehicular Assault in Colorado
In Colorado, you may be charged with vehicular assault if you are accused of driving a motor vehicle in a reckless manner or while under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol and an accident results in serious bodily injury to another person, including passengers in your own car. Reckless driving vehicular assault is a Class Five felony, carrying a six month to six year prison sentence, two years of parole, and possible fines of $1,000 to $100,000. DUI or DWAI vehicular assault is a Class Four felony punishable by one year to 12 years in prison, a mandatory parole period of three years, and up to $500,000 in fines.
Denver, Colorado Vehicular Homicide Lawyer
Vehicular homicide (sometimes referred to as vehicular manslaughter) may be charged if loss of life occurs as the result of an alleged reckless driving or DUI accident. Reckless driving vehicular homicide is a Class Four felony, carrying a one year to 12 year prison sentence, three years of parole, and $2,000 to $500,000 in fines. Vehicular homicide involving DUI, DWAI, or DUID is a Class Three felony with penalties ranging from two to 24 years in prison, five years of mandatory parole, and $3,000 to $750,000 in fines.
After being involved in a serious injury or fatal car accident in which your actions may have contributed to the crash, talk to a Colorado criminal lawyer before you talk to law enforcement officers, prosecutors, or anyone else in the criminal justice system. A Denver vehicular homicide attorney at Fife Luneau, PC can work with toxicologists to challenge evidence that you were intoxicated or impaired at the time of an accident, as well as reconstruction experts to challenge allegations that you were the cause of an accident.
Talk to a Skilled Defense Attorney about Vehicular Manslaughter Charges in Colorado
If you have been accused of DUI, DWAI, or DUID in an accident that resulted in serious injury or death, contact the defense attorneys at Charles L. Fife & Associates, PC for a free initial consultation. Even if vehicular assault, manslaughter, or homicide charges have not yet been filed in your case, you need to protect your rights and interests going forward.
I have known Charles L. Fife for 2 years now. Unfortunately, I required his personal expertise as an attorney earlier this year. I was very relieved when Mr. Fife agreed to take my case....MORE TESTIMONIALS