Colorado Diversion Program Every parent’s nightmare is the call late at night from their teen saying they have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). It certainly is no one’s intent that such events occur, but many acknowledge that experimentation with alcohol and drugs is a common rite of passage for teenagers. That said,… Read More »Learn More
Denver, Colorado Driving Under Suspension Attorney
Fife Luneau, PC offers vigorous, experienced defense representation to clients charged with driving under suspension (DUS) or driving under revocation (DUR) in Colorado. Our attorneys understand that many people facing DUS or DUR charges felt they had no choice but to drive with a suspended or revoked license. Often, our clients were simply trying to get to work or meet another important obligation. With this in mind, we aggressively help people overcome DUS or DUR charges.
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License in Colorado
The civil aspect of DUI sentencing involves the suspension or revocation of a person's driving privileges. Habitual traffic offender (HTO) charges may also result in driver's license suspension or revocation. In other cases, driving privileges may be suspended when you accumulate excessive points on your driving record. For adults over 21, you cannot have more than 12 points in one year or 18 points in two years.
In Colorado, driving under a suspended or revoked license is charged as "driving under restraint," which is a misdemeanor. A conviction carries a mandatory sentence of at least five days in jail plus a $50 fine, but a judge can impose a sentence of up to six months in jail in addition to a $500 fine. For a second offense and conviction, you will generally lose your license for an additional three years minimum.
If your license was suspended or revoked because of an alcohol-related offense, you face up to one year in jail and at least $500 in fines for a first DUS or DUR. A second conviction for DUS or DUR carries a mandatory sentence of 90 days to two years in jail and fines up to $3,000. Probation and suspended sentences are not permitted unless you drove because of an emergency, but alleged offenders may seek alternatives to incarceration, such as in-home detention.
In many situations, we have helped clients overcome a DUS or DUR charge by reducing the offense to a 0 point ticket, which means no jail time and no additional license suspension. To pursue a ticket in lieu of criminal charges, however, we must act fast and request a DMV hearing. We have obtained excellent results for clients in DMV hearings, and can help you achieve the best result possible after an arrest or notification of DUS or DUR charges.
Fight a DUI & Avoid a DUS
Many of our clients charged with DUS or DUR could have avoided or minimized points on their license by fighting a DUI/DWAI or DUID. We cannot overemphasize the importance of talking to an experienced defense attorney before pleading guilty to any criminal offense. Our firm offers aggressive representation against all intoxicated or impaired driving-related charges.
Driving Under Suspension Lawyers in Denver Can Help You Keep Your Driver's License
If you or a loved one has been charged with DUS or DUR, be proactive and contact Fife Luneau, PC for a free initial consultation. Ignoring a DUS or DUR citation can lead to multiple citations, additional time with a suspended license, and even jail time. Fight the charge now and significantly improve your chances of regaining your driving privileges as soon as possible.
I have known Charles L. Fife for 2 years now. Unfortunately, I required his personal expertise as an attorney earlier this year. I was very relieved when Mr. Fife agreed to take my case....MORE TESTIMONIALS